Thursday, November 19, 2015

Bryce Harper 2015 NL MVP

Bryce Harper of the Washington Nationals was named the 2015 National League Most Valuable Player by the Baseball Writers Association of America. He garnered all 30 first place votes and had 420 points total. The rest of the top five were Paul Goldschmidt of the Diamondbacks with 234 points, Joey Votto of the Reds with 175 points, Anthony Rizzo of the Cubs with 162 points and Andrew McCutchen of the Pirates with 139 points. 

Other receiving votes were Jake Arrieta of the Cubs with 134 points, Zack Greinke (Dodgers, 130), Nolan Arenado (Rockies, 102), Buster Posey (Giants, 84), Clayton Kershaw (Dodgers, 49), Kris Bryant (Cubs, 34), Matt Carpenter (Cardinals, 26), Yoenis Cespedes (Mets, 24), A.J. Pollock (Diamondbacks, 21), Jason Heyward (Cardinals, 15), Dee Gordon (Marlins, 6), Trevor Rosenthal (Cardinals, 5), Curtis Granderson (Mets, 4), Gerrit Cole (Pirates, 3) and Adrian Gonzalez (Dodgers, 3).

The Nationals outfielder hit .330/.460/1.109 with 42 HR, 99 RBI, 118 R, 6 SB in 153 games. Over four MLB seasons with the Nationals he has hit .289/.384/.517 with 97 HR, 248 RBI, 328 R, 37 SB in 510 games. Harper was the 2012 NL Rookie of the Year. He was originally drafted by the Nationals with the first over all pick in 2010. Harper turned 23 on October 16.

No comments:

Post a Comment