Wednesday, November 18, 2015

.Jake Arrieta 2015 NL Cy Young

Jake Arrieta of the Chicago Cubs won the 2015 National League Cy Young award by the Baseball Writers Association of America. He had 17 first place votes and 169 total. Other pitchers receiving first place votes were Zack Greinke of the Dodgers with 10 and 147 points total and Clayton Kershaw of the Dodgers with 3 and 101 points total. Others receiving votes were Gerrit Cole of the Pirates with 40 points, Max Scherzer (Nationals, 32), Madison Bumgarner (Giants, 8), Jacob deGrom (Mets, 7), Mark Melancon (Pirates, 5) and John Lackey (Cardinals, 1).

For the season the RHP was 22-6, 1.77 ERA, 236 K, 0.86 WHIP, .185 BAA in 229.0 IP over 33 games. Over six MLB seasons with the Cubs and Orioles he is 56-38, 3.70 ERA, 717 K, 1.18 WHIP, .226 BAA in 795.1 IP over 136 games. He was originally drafted by the Orioles in the fifth round in 2007 and traded to the Cubs in 2013. Arrieta will be 30 on March 6th.

No comments:

Post a Comment