Wednesday, November 16, 2016

Max Scherzer 2016 NL Cy Young

Max Scherzer of the Washington Nationals won the 2016 National League Cy Young award by the Baseball Writers Association of America. He had 25 first place votes and 192 total. Other pitchers receiving first place votes were Jon Lester of the Cubs with one and 102 points total, Kyle Hendricks of the Cubs with two and 85 total and Clayton Kershaw of the Dodgers with two and 30 total. Others receiving votes were Madison Bumgarner of the Giants with 46 points, Johnny Cueto (Giants, 19), Jose Fernandez (Marlins, 18), Noah Syndergard (Mets, 15), Jake Arrieta (Cubs, 2) and Tanner Roark (Nationals, 1).

The RHP was 20-7, 2.96 ERA, 284 K, 0.97 WHIP, .199 BAA in 228.1 IP over 34 games in 2016. Over his nine season MLB career with the Nationals, Tigers and Diamondbacks he is 125-69, 3.39 ERA, 1881 K, 1.14 WHIP, .232 BAA in 1696.1 IP over 274 games. with 265 GS. This is his second Cy Young after winning the American League award in 2013.  He was originally drafted by the Diamondbacks with the 11th pick of the first round in 2006, was traded to the Tigers in 2009 and signed with the Nationals in 2015. Scherzer turned 32 on July 27.

No comments:

Post a Comment